Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

90th Birthday of Mstislav Rostropovich and the Tenth Anniversary of His Death

“Music is my hobby”, Mstislav Rostropovich is once rumoured to have said in his wonderfully charming and often so cheerful manner. Rostropovich played with body and soul; he was a complete musician who was interested to the same degree in composers, conductors, interpreters, pupils and students, as well as organizers. On 27 March 2017 we shall celebrate the 90th birthday of Mstislav Rostropovich and also commemorate the tenth anniversary of his death.

Rostropovich died on 27 April 2007 in Moscow, just one month after his 80th birthday.

“I am the happiest person”, Rostropovich once confessed. “No person experienced what I experience, but I was prepared for everything.” Composers from all over the world, but especially the Russian composers of the 20th century wrote over 70 works dedicated to Mstislav Rostropovich. In the years 1950 to 1952, for example, Sergei Prokofiev wrote the Sinfonia concertante for Violoncello and Orchestra in E minor, Op. 125, in close collaboration with Rostropovich, who was also the soloist at this work’s celebrated Moscow premiere. Prokofiev’s incomplete Concertino for Violoncello and Orchestra, Op. 128 was finished by Rostropovich after the composer‘s death.

Dmitri Shostakovich was no less impressed by Rostropovich’s unique cello playing. Unlike Prokofiev, however, he did not allow the cellist to see the score until he had finished the last note of his Violoncello Concerto No. 1. Alfred Schnittke dedicated his Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra No. 2 to Mstislav Rostropovich, whom he described as “one of the few guiding figures in the present-day musical world”.

 

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

90. Geburtstag und 10. Todestag von Mstislaw Rostropowitsch

„Musik ist mein Hobby“, soll Mstislaw Rostropowitsch einmal in seiner wundervoll charmanten und oft so gutgelaunten Art gesagt haben. Rostropowitsch spielte mit Leib und Seele, er war ein Vollblutmusiker, der sich für Komponisten, Dirigenten, Interpreten, Schüler und Studenten, aber auch für Veranstalter in gleichem Maße interessierte. Am 27. März 2017 gedenken wir des 90. Geburtstags von Mstislaw Rostropowitsch und gleichsam auch seines 10. Todestags.

Am 27. April 2007 nämlich war Rostropowitsch, nur einen Monat nach seinem achtzigsten Geburtstag, in Moskau im Alter von 80 Jahren verstorben.

„Ich bin der glücklichste Mensch“, gestand Rostropowitsch ebenfalls einmal. „Was ich erlebt habe, hat kein Mensch erlebt, aber ich war auf alles vorbereitet.“ Komponisten aus aller Welt, vor allem aber die russischen Komponisten des 20. Jahrhunderts schrieben über 70 Widmungskompositionen für Mstislaw Rostropowitsch. In den Jahren 1950 bis 1952 entstand zum Beispiel in engster Zusammenarbeit von Rostropowitsch und Sergej Prokofjew die Sinfonia concertante für Violoncello und Orchester e-Moll op. 125. Rostropowitsch war auch der Solist der gefeierten Moskauer Uraufführung dieses Werkes. Prokofjews nicht mehr vollendetes Concertino für Violoncello und Orchester op. 128 ergänzte Rostropowitsch nach dem Tod des Komponisten.

Nicht minder beeindruckt von Rostropowitschs einzigartigem Cellospiel war Dmitri Schostakowitsch. Im Gegensatz zu Prokofjew ließ er den Cellisten jedoch keinen Blick in die Partitur werfen, bevor er nicht die letzte Note seines Violoncellokonzerts Nr. 1 zu Papier gebracht hatte. Alfred Schnittke widmete sein Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester Nr. 2 Mstislaw Rostropowitsch, den er als „eine der wenigen richtungsweisenden Gestalten der musikalischen Gegenwart“ bezeichnete.“

 

» Zeige alle News